Site Loader

There are all different types of disability, but in workers comp, disabilities are classified in two different ways:

1) Is the injury temporary or permanent? and
2) Is the injury total or partial?

Combining these options, an injured employee can have four different types of disability benefits:

– Temporary total disability (TTD)
– Temporary partial disability (TPD)
– Permanent total disability (PTD)
– Permanent partial disability (PPD)

Temporary vs. Permanent Disability

Temporary disability means that the employee is still recovering, and is expected to get better. Permanent disability means that the employee’s condition is stable, and is not expected to improve. Permanent disability is sometimes referred to as a point of maximum medical improvement (MMI). A person at MMI is not necessarily fully recovered; MMI just means that the person is not expected to get any better.

Total vs. Partial Disability

Total disability means that the employee cannot work at any type of employment; he/she is completely disabled. Partial disability means that the employee has some sort of work capacity, perhaps the ability to perform sedentary or light duty work.

To learn more, visit the Chicago workers compensation lawyers at Krol, Bongiorno & Given.

Post Author: LA Studio